Map of Dayton Agreement

The Dayton Agreement was a peace agreement signed in Paris on November 21, 1995, which ended the Bosnian War. It is considered to be one of the most significant international agreements in modern history, as it brought an end to years of brutal conflict in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

As part of the agreement, the map of Bosnia and Herzegovina was redrawn, with the country being divided into two entities: the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Republika Srpska. The Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina is mainly populated by Bosniaks and Croats, while the Republika Srpska is predominantly inhabited by Serbs.

The Dayton Agreement also created a new political system in Bosnia and Herzegovina, with a central government shared by the two entities. The agreement established a presidency consisting of three members: one representing each of the Bosniak-Croat Federation and the Republika Srpska, and the third representing other minorities.

The Dayton Agreement was instrumental in bringing an end to the Bosnian War, which had claimed the lives of approximately 100,000 people and displaced millions more. The agreement also paved the way for the rebuilding of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the establishment of a new, more democratic government.

Today, the map of Bosnia and Herzegovina remains largely unchanged since the signing of the Dayton Agreement. However, tensions between the two entities and between different ethnic groups in the country continue to exist, highlighting the ongoing challenges faced by Bosnia and Herzegovina in its quest for lasting peace.

In conclusion, the Dayton Agreement was a pivotal moment in modern history, as it brought an end to years of conflict and violence in Bosnia and Herzegovina. The agreement redrawn the map of Bosnia and Herzegovina, creating two entities and a new political system. Although tensions still exist to this day, the Dayton Agreement remains an important symbol of hope and progress for the people of Bosnia and Herzegovina.